2
\$\begingroup\$

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 127) includes a magic item called the Feywild shard. The relevant part of its description states:

When you use a Metamagic option on a spell while you are holding or wearing the shard, you can roll on the Wild Magic Surge table in the Player's Handbook. If the result is a spell, it is too wild to be affected by your Metamagic, and if it normally requires concentration, it doesn't require concentration in this case; the spell lasts for its full duration.

This part is the one that some in my group don't agree on:

  • My reading: You cast a spell that is being affected by Metamagic. You then choose to roll on the table. If the resulting effect listed on the table is then also a spell, it is separate from the original spell and has the two listed added conditions (Metamagic can't be used on it, and it doesn't require concentration).
  • The others think that if the result of the roll on the Wild Magic Surge table is a spell, it replaces the original spell, and the original Metamagic option you chose doesn't affect it.

Which interpretation is correct?

\$\endgroup\$
1
3
\$\begingroup\$

You are correct: it's an additional spell, separate from the one that triggered the Wild Magic Surge.

The effect of the Feywild shard magic item is triggered when you use a Metamagic option. All but two Metamagic options trigger when you cast a spell; Empowered Spell triggers when you roll damage for a spell, and Seeking Spell (TCoE, p. 66) triggers when you make an attack roll for a spell and miss.

In all cases, any trigger that would take effect when a Metamagic option is used would take place at least after the initial spell has finished being cast. This means the potential resulting spell from a Wild Magic Surge coming from the Feywild shard would take place after the effects/concentration of the initial spell have already begun, and would not retroactively cancel the previous spell.

Also of note, the same 2 conditions mentioned in the description of the Feywild shard are mentioned in the Wild Magic Sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge feature (PHB, p. 103):

If that effect is a spell, it is too wild to be affected by your Metamagic, and if it normally requires concentration, it doesn't require concentration in this case; the spell lasts for its full duration.

This, too, is referring to the result of a roll on the Wild Magic Surge table; the relevant portion of the Feywild shard's description uses (almost) exactly the same wording as the Wild Magic Surge feature description.

\$\endgroup\$
0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.