5
\$\begingroup\$

The Bless spell has this restriction:

A blessing, however, affects only those not already engaged in melee combat.

...While the Aid spell doesn't directly say anything similar. It does, however, say this:

The recipient of this spell gains the benefit of a bless spell and a special bonus of 1d8 additional hit points for the duration of the spell.

So, a Bless spell cast onto allies already in combat has no effect... but would the Aid spell ignore that limitation, and affect creatures engaged in combat?

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

The revised Player's Handbook published in 1995 has this for the Aid spell:

The recipient of this spell gains the benefit of a bless spell (+1 to attack rolls and saving throws) and a special bonus of 1d8 additional hit points for the duration of the spell.

RAW, by using the word "benefit" (rather than "effect"), only the bonuses from the Bless spell would apply (rather than the entirety of the spell's text). The parenthesis for Aid in later printings further emphasizes this.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .