5
\$\begingroup\$

Does a Rogue with Cardsharp (Deadly Dealer) need the Quick Draw feat to keep throwing cards if he is holding the deck of cards if he has more attacks per round?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

RAW, they need Quick Draw

Deadly Dealer (via Card Sharp) treats the cards as darts. Darts are thrown weapons and therefore take an action to draw. This is in contrast to the shuriken which is thrown ammunition*.

*Of some note, the cards are destroyed on use just like thrown ammunition, unlike non-ammunition thrown weapons (such as darts).


Speak with your GM about the deck being "considered" the dart weapon, so as long as you "wield" the deck, you would be able to perform attacks with it. The damage is essentially the same as thrown ammunition options (see halfling sharpstones and throwing arrow) making this a very reasonable ruling.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think it's a bit different than that though. If I had several darts in my off hand and didn't have to actually draw them from their storage quiver, would I not be able to throw multiple in a turn? Since it is assumed that the extra time to draw them is due to them being in a quiver or other type of storage, rather than being in hand already. I think the same situation would apply when holding a deck for Deadly Dealer. Also, throw weapons aren't normally destroyed on use, the only thrown weapon that is is the shuriken, due to its ammunition classification. \$\endgroup\$ – RevenantBacon Dec 1 '20 at 14:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ I was trying to state that thrown ammunition is destroyed on use (as are the cards) to draw a connection that it may have been "intended" that they work as ammunition (as opposed to regular thrown weapons, including darts). I'll try to be more clear. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Dec 1 '20 at 14:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ There is no function as written for you to have a handful of darts (also remember that they are nearly-arrow-darts, not game-of-darts, so you may be able to hold fewer than you think) to be able to throw them without drawing in between. I highly recommend it as a houserule, but it is not supported in the text. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Dec 1 '20 at 14:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @RevenantBacon Also, to my knowledge, too, Ifusaso is correct: Pathfinder doesn't address holding multiple objects in a hand so that they're ready to be thrown. Thus you may be interested in this D&D 3.5 answer, specifically the section "Sage Advice: Holding multiple objects in one hand." \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Dec 1 '20 at 14:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Couple things: related forum post on darts. From, deadly dealer ["a ranged weapon with 54 pieces of ammunition" Overall, you're not wrong though, it's just a poorly written feat that most gms would allow treating the cards as ammo for. \$\endgroup\$ – william porter Dec 1 '20 at 15:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.