9
\$\begingroup\$

The spells that come with feats Telepathic and Telekinetic can be cast with no verbal, somatic, or material component requirement. Would this mean that a wild shaped druid could cast these spells since all they would need is their mind to cast them?

\$\endgroup\$
0

2 Answers 2

21
\$\begingroup\$

You cannot cast spells while in Wild Shape.

The feature description of Wild Shape says:

You can’t cast spells [...]

So you cannot cast spells.

There is a way around this: cast them before using Wild Shape.

The rules for Wild Shape continue:

Transforming doesn’t break your concentration on a spell you’ve already cast, however, or prevent you from taking actions that are part of a spell, such as call lightning, that you’ve already cast.

Mage hand and detect thoughts each have a duration of 1 minute, so you can continue to use them after you Wild Shape, as long as you cast them prior to using Wild Shape.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No.

The 5e Druid's 'Wild Shape' feature lists, as one of its conditions, "You can't cast spells, ...."

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .