2
\$\begingroup\$

Do racial traits bonus stack?

Telepathic Talent:

Benefit: You can expend your psionic focus to gain a +2 trait bonus to your saves against mind-affecting powers and psi-like abilities. This talent grants no benefit if you do not have the ability to gain psionic focus.

and

Elan

Resistance (Su): Elans can use psionic energy to increase their resistance to various forms of attack. As an immediate action, an elan can spend 1 power point to gain a +4 racial bonus on saving throws until the beginning of her next action.

if I'm a elan (with focus), if is a mind-affecting power to resist, Can I use both?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Telepathic Talent gives you a “trait” bonus, and the elan’s resistance gives you a “racial” bonus. These are not the same thing: “trait” ≠ “racial.” Since they are bonuses of different types, they stack. In situations where both apply, you add both bonuses together.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Ah yes, the good ol' "race trait" vs "racial trait" confusion. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 11 '20 at 19:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ Telepathic Talent is poorly worded, though: what kind of action (if any) does expending psionic focus take, and how long does the +2 trait bonus last? As worded, it's arguably equivalent to "Requirement: ability to psionically focus. Benefit: gain a +2 trait bonus on saves against mind-affecting powers and psi-like abilities.", unless there's something I missed in the base "psionic focus" rules. \$\endgroup\$
    – minnmass
    Dec 12 '20 at 20:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @minnmass Correct, it should say you can expend psionic focus when you have to make such a save to get a bonus on that save. It wouldn’t use an action, though, so that part wouldn’t really be necessary (though being explicit can be nice). \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Dec 12 '20 at 21:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.