3
\$\begingroup\$

It's specifically stated that psionic abilities do not count as spells (thus, it's possible to use one as an action and another as a bonus action in the same turn).

A duergar (dwarf subrace) player character can cast the invisibility spell on themself (once per long rest). If I am a duergar mystic and cast invisibility on myself, do my psionic abilities cause the invisibility spell to end?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you asking about the Unearthed Arcana playtest version of the mystic class? (If so, which one - this one?) ...Also, is there anything specific to duergar about this situation? It seems like the question would be the same regardless of how you're casting the invisibility spell, given that the potentially relevant restriction is part of the spell description and not specific to the racial trait. (I suppose that learning the invisibility spell would otherwise require multiclassing... Though someone else could cast it on them.) \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Dec 13 '20 at 5:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also: Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Dec 13 '20 at 5:57
0
\$\begingroup\$

Only if they use the ability to attack.

As you've noticed, mystic abilities don't count as spells. As such, they're not subject to the same restrictions as spells. Just like a monk can use Step of the Wind and a druid can Wildshape without breaking invisibility, so can a mystic manifest a power.

However, some mystic abilities involve making an attack roll. This involves a certain amount of interpretation, because "an attack" in D&D terms can mean either the attack action (a specific action that neither casting a spell or manifesting a mystic power counts as) or making an attack roll - ie a d20 roll with an attack bonus against a creature's AC.

The base rules define an attack thusly:

If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an Attack, the rule is simple: if you’re Making an Attack roll, you’re Making an Attack.

So using a mystic power that triggers an attack roll is making an attack, and would end invisibility.

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .