5
\$\begingroup\$

Harness Divine Power states (TCoE p.30):

As a bonus action, you touch your holy symbol, utter a prayer, and regain one expended spell slot [...]

Does this mean this ability can only be used provided the Cleric has a holy symbol? In the Spellcasting feature for Cleric's it says "You can use a holy symbol,[...]" which should mean they can cast spells with materials, they are not forced to use a holy symbol; if a player chooses to make a character that uses materials instead of a holy symbol, are they locked out of using this feature?

\$\endgroup\$
2
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, and spellcasting is a different matter

That class feature about channel divinity, not spellcasting. The text states you have to touch your holy symbol so that is what you must do. There are other examples in the rules where you need a specific item of value to accomplish something (eg. identify requires a pearl worth at least 100 gold).

You won't be locked out of that class feature if you decide to cast spells using material components, you just need to have a holy symbol for when you use channel divinity in that way.

Of course you could ask your DM if you could forgo the need for a holy symbol in this case. Rule 0 does take precedence regardless of what the rules state.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .