I was wondering if there's a rule against casting 2 cantrips on the same turn, one as an action and another one as a bonus action, to be more specific I'm playing a grave domain cleric and I was wondering if I can use let's say Toll the Dead (as an action) and Spare the Dying to stabilize a party member (as a bonus action) due to the "Circle of Mortality" feature that allows me to use that one cantrip as a bonus action.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you did not do it already, and in case you need further guidance for posting questions and/or answer visit help center! Happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Commented Dec 28, 2020 at 8:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: Which uses of Bonus-Action spellcasting are legal? \$\endgroup\$
    – Sdjz
    Commented Dec 28, 2020 at 10:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you, that does answer my question. \$\endgroup\$
    – Belgoriun
    Commented Dec 28, 2020 at 14:34

1 Answer 1


The spell casting rules (PHB, page 202) say

Bonus Action A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

Hence, your case falls exactly under this rule: in your turn you cast Spare the dying whose casting time is a bonus action (thanks to your domain), moreover you can still cast Toll the dead, since it is a cantrip and it has a casting time of one action.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .