2
\$\begingroup\$

Suppose an enemy casts Time Stop and then makes an attack against me, rolling a 20 to hit against my 16 AC. Normally, I could cast Shield to cause this attack to miss. And of course, this attack also ends the Time Stop. So, does time start flowing "soon enough" for me to cast Shield against the attack that ends the Time Stop spell?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Though I did close this question, I could certainly see the argument made that the linked question never mentions the shield spell which is an exceptional enough spell to warrant its own question (after all, we have a lot of questions about shield) \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jan 3 at 6:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Yeah, it's a bit ambiguous. Unfortunately the accepted answer kind of glosses over the details of the interaction between Time Stop and Shield. \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan C. Thompson Jan 3 at 13:33
-1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can cast Shield

Time Stop says:

This spell ends if one of the actions you use during this period, or any effects that you create during this period, affects a creature other than you or an object being worn or carried by someone other than you.

As soon as the caster Attacks or creates some effect that affects a creature other than itself, the spell ends. Once the spell has ended, you can act normally, allowing you to cast Shield with your reaction, turning a potential hit into a miss.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ If the attack misses, how does it affect you? \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jan 3 at 6:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells It affects you by making you a target. Whether or not you were successfully hit is irrelevant, as long as you were targeted. \$\endgroup\$ – RevanantBacon Jan 3 at 6:08

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.