I've seen a lot of questions regarding Spell-Like Abilities but regarding actions and casting time - specifically, do you consider "casting time" as the SP "otherwise noted" part?

A Witch Tree is casting Dominate Person as a: 1 round action or Standard action?

It seems at one point someone added unless otherwise noted in the spell or ability, but is that official?


1 Answer 1


Spell-Like Abilities default to a standard action unless otherwise noted in either the SP's description or the spell's description:

Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. ...

A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

-- source

A Witch Tree's SP list includes Dominate Person, but doesn't explicitly state a casting time. Therefore, it doesn't override the regular casting time of Dominate Person, which is 1 round. So, the Witch Tree would need to spend 1 round to use its Dominate Person SP.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .