2
\$\begingroup\$

This is inspired by the following question which seems to only ask about steel wind strike, while this question is more general:


The rules on "Other Activity on Your Turn" state (emphasis mine):

[...] You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. [...]

Similarly, the rules on the "Use an Object" action state (emphasis mine):

You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. [...]

However, what if you cast a spell such as fire bolt, which involves making an attack; can you draw a weapon while performing this attack?

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you mean draw a weapon using your free object interaction? Or besides free object interaction, drawing a weapon as a part of the attack? \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Commented Jan 6, 2021 at 12:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @enkrtptor The question I asked was more or less just a bad question. I got hung up on the idea of "you can draw a weapon as part of an attack" being a rule and not just an example of one way to use your free object interaction in the middle of your action. So I was asking about something that doesn't really even exist whose answer is just that you can draw a weapon during any action, not just when making an attack \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 6, 2021 at 12:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ To my knowledge, "draw a weapon as part of an attack" and "draw or sheathe a sword" as an example of free object interaction are two different things. So you can expend your free object interaction and still be able to draw a weapon as part of an attack. \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Commented Jan 6, 2021 at 12:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor I am fairly certain drawing a weapon as part of your attack does use your object interaction. It's listed as an example use as far as I can tell. Though feel free to ask a question on it \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 6, 2021 at 12:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ You're probably correct. I've checked this case in the PHB — it was about loading ammunition, not drawing a weapon. \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Commented Jan 6, 2021 at 12:39

1 Answer 1

7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, it is done in tandem with the Cast a Spell action.

The rules for object interactions state:

You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action.

The rules then give an example:

Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:

  • draw or sheathe a sword

Since casting firebolt uses your action, you may draw your sword.

I have never played with a DM who much cared for the strict reading of this rule.

I've played with a lot of DMs. Not once has a DM objected to drawing my sword without moving or taking an action. Yes, it does say it must be done in tandem with either your move or action. So in a strict reading, it would seem you have to either move or take an action to interact with an object, but this is obviously a silly ruling:

Player: I draw my sword.

DM: Are you moving or taking an action?

Player: No? I just need to have my sword out.

DM: You can only interact with objects if you take some other action or move.

Player: Okay? I use my action to make a perception check and draw my sword in tandem with that action.

DM: (thinking to himself) phew, rules crisis averted. I can't imagine what wild unforeseen things might have happened if I had let them draw their sword without taking an action.

Just get your sword out and move on with your turn please.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ To throw a wrench, if the spell has a Somatic component, then you need to worry about having a free hand, War Caster, and other factors. \$\endgroup\$
    – MivaScott
    Commented Jan 5, 2021 at 22:54
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MivaScott Just draw your sword after you’re done with your components. Or, and this is how I rule as a DM, just draw your sword and don’t worry about this rule until you start trying to get multiple object interacts in one turn. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jan 5, 2021 at 22:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .