The Hexblade Warlock's Hex Warrior feature states (emphasis mine):

[...] If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type.

Meanwhile, the Pact of the Blade Warlock feature states:

[...] You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. [...]

Does a magic weapon that you have transformed into your pact weapon benefit from Hex Warrior?
Does it count as a weapon you have conjured using Pact of the Blade?
Does the answer change if you shunt the weapon away and then make it appear afterwards?


1 Answer 1



First of all, the weapon has been transformed into your pact weapon, so that checks out. But is it "conjured" when you make it appear?

Conjuration school of magic includes summoning spells, including spells like Instant Summons and Secret Chest , which kinda do similar things.

Also, the plain English meaning of "conjure" is

to make something appear by magic, or as if by magic

(From Cambridge Dictionary )

And this is clearly what is happening here. There is no clear definition of "conjuring" in 5th edition which would contradict this.

So, it would be extremely strange for a DM to rule that making your magic pact weapon appear would not count as conjuring a pact weapon with the Pact of the Blade feature.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that sentient or artifact weapons can't be dismissed / summoned, even if you can bond one as your Pact Weapon. (The You can't affect an artifact or a sentient weapon in this way. isn't clear whether it applies to bonding it as a pact weapon at all, or just to the dismiss/summon sentence immediately before it.) \$\endgroup\$ Sep 14, 2021 at 23:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Another question has that answer. Link \$\endgroup\$ Oct 11, 2023 at 21:04

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .