6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm currently working on a roll20 script which will automatically convert a creature using the rules of Animate Dead. Now I ran into an oddity while trying to recalculate the damage and attack for the greatclub attack of the Ogre.

The attack is listed as follows

Melee greatclub +7 (2d8+7)

The +7 attack is understandable (+3 bab, +5 strength modifier, -1 size modified = +7), but the +7 damage has me puzzled.

The docs mention the following about how damage is calculated:

When you hit with a melee or thrown weapon, including a sling, add your Strength modifier to the damage result.

But this would mean that the damage for the greatclub should be 2d8+5 and not 2d8+7. So where is the additional +2 coming from? The ogre also doesn't have any feats that would increase this number.

I've looked into the Table: Weapon Damage Size Conversion as the Ogre is a large creature but this doesn't say anything about +2 bonus damage.

\$\endgroup\$
0
24
\$\begingroup\$

The greatclub is a two-handed weapon

As stated under the rules for two-handed weapons:

Two hands are required to use a two-handed melee weapon effectively. Apply 1-1/2 times the character's strength bonus to damage rolls for melee attacks with such a weapon.

So, +5 * 1.5 = +7.5, dropping fractions gives +7.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

The Ogre is wielding their greatclub two-handed

Immediately following the rule you've already found that states that a creature adds their strength modifier to damage with melee weapons, there is a corollary for wielding a weapon two-handed:

When you deal damage with a weapon that you are wielding two-handed, you add 1-1/2 times your Strength bonus (Strength penalties are not multiplied). You don’t get this higher Strength bonus, however, when using a light weapons with two hands.

A greatclub is a two-handed weapon (and not a light weapon), so the Ogre gets to add 1.5x their strength modifier to their damage. As is usually the case with fractional results, the resulting +7.5 is rounded down to +7.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .