8
\$\begingroup\$

I was planning on making a divination wizard build in D&D 5e, but something dawned on me. Could I technically cast infinite level 1 spells, by choosing mind spike as a spell mastery and having Expert Divination?

Spell mastery: (Level 18) Choose a level 1 and Level 2 spell. I can cast this at the lowest level without expending a slot. This allows you to cast a level 1 spell and level 2 spells as many times as you want

This means I can just spam mind spike. But there's more. If you read Expert Divination:

Expert divination: When you use a level 2 or above divination spell, you regain a spell slot of a spell lower than that level

With mind spike being a Divination spell, it works with Expert Divination. It also does a 3d8 damage (though it does require concentration).

Couldn't I just spam mind spike, while continuously regaining first level spells?
I don't think I'll do this in the campaign because if this technically works, it is pretty broken, as I'll be able to spam a first level spell (like shield for example) or if I multiclass into Cleric, be able to spam cure wounds forever if I use mind spike each turn (which is crazy) or other spells using the first level spell slot. I want to know if this is possible, and I haven't been able to find a question / research based on this.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Related question based around the Abjuration wizard's Arcane Ward feature: Wizard's Spell Mastery & Arcane Ward Synergy? \$\endgroup\$ – divibisan Jan 22 at 17:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The comments of community members rehashing a policy argument has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jan 22 at 19:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ But where are our manners, Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jan 23 at 0:59
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ It seems that based on the answer, this question really should tell the source of these quotes, as the answer seems to be "you have wrong rules". Oh, and welcome! \$\endgroup\$ – WakiNadiVellir Jan 23 at 6:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does my answer solve your problem well enough for a green check? \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov 2 days ago
29
\$\begingroup\$

The feature descriptions you quote in the question do not match the officially printed versions, so I would double check that your source is legitimate.

The quotes and links below are taken from DNDBeyond, which is officially licensed by Wizards of the Coast to host digital versions of D&D 5e publications. These quotes match exactly the Player’s Handbook.

Expert Divination only works when you expend a spell slot.

Expert Divination (PHB, pg. 116) says:

When you cast a divination spell of 2nd level or higher using a spell slot, you regain one expended spell slot.

Spell Mastery (PHB, pg. 115) says:

You can cast those spells at their lowest level without expending a spell slot.

This means that casting one of your Spell Mastery spells without expending a spell slot will not trigger Expert Divination.

Note, these features have remained untouched by errata since their original printing.

\$\endgroup\$
0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.