5
\$\begingroup\$

At level 7, the Fey Wanderer ranger gets a feature called Beguiling Twist. The relevant part reads:

Whenever you or a creature you can see within 120 feet of you succeeds on a saving throw against being charmed or frightened, you can use your reaction to force a different creature you can see within 120 feet of you to make a Wisdom saving throw against your spell save DC. (TCoE, p. 59)

Also at level 7, the Oath of Devotion paladin gets the Aura of Devotion, which says:

You and friendly creatures within 10 feet of you can’t be charmed while you are conscious. (PHB, p. 86)

If a Fey Wanderer and a Devotion paladin are in the same party, and the paladin is targeted by an effect that would impose the charmed condition, does that trigger the ranger’s Beguiling Twist feature? Clearly one way or another the paladin won’t be charmed, but does its immunity function as an automatic success on the saving throw? Or should the paladin roll the saving throw even though it’s going to ignore the effect of a failure, just to determine whether or not the ranger’s ability will trigger?

\$\endgroup\$
1
6
\$\begingroup\$

It depends / It is unclear

The following is a question about a similar situation:

Notably it has a "Yes" answer and a "No" answer, both high-scoring. The answer to that question is what matters here. If you do not make a saving throw against the Charmed condition then Beguiling Twist cannot activate as no saving throw was ever made. If you do make a saving throw against the Charmed condition, then Beguiling Twist would activate if the saving throw was succeeded on. Note that a creature could still fail the saving throw, they would simply be immune to the effects of that failure, well... at least until the Paladin got too far away or fell unconscious (probably).


And then we also have the following questions:

And these each have different answers taking different stances on similar topics. So basically... this seems to be an unclear (or at the very least, a not well agreed upon) part of the rules. It would seem then, that only your GM has the answers for this.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.