9
\$\begingroup\$

If a divination wizard scrys on a creature, and the creature is about to make a roll, could the wizard use portant to affect the result?

\$\endgroup\$
1
12
\$\begingroup\$

Even if you can only see a creature because of scrying you can still use Portent on their rolls

The scrying spell states (emphasis mine):

[...] You can see and hear a particular creature you choose that is on the same plane of existence as you. [...]

Thus, the scrying spell allows you to see a creature, and that is all that is required to use the Portent feature as it states (emphasis mine):

[...] You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. [...]

There is no range restriction on the Portent feature, only a visibility restriction.


This is also addressed in the Sage Advice Compendium

The Sage Advice Compendium states:

Q. Can a School of Divination wizard on the Ethereal Plane use Portent on a creature that the wizard can see on the Material Plane?

A. Yes. Portent requires you to be able to see the creature, but it has no range restriction.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.