12
\$\begingroup\$

If a Divination wizard targets a creature with the scrying spell, and the creature is about to make a roll, could the wizard use the Portent feature to affect the result?

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

15
\$\begingroup\$

Even if you can only see a creature because of scrying you can still use Portent on their rolls

The scrying spell states (emphasis mine):

[...] You can see and hear a particular creature you choose that is on the same plane of existence as you. [...]

Thus, the scrying spell allows you to see a creature, and that is all that is required to use the Portent feature as it states (emphasis mine):

[...] You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. [...]

There is no range restriction on the Portent feature, only a visibility restriction.


This is also addressed in the Sage Advice Compendium

The Sage Advice Compendium states:

Q. Can a School of Divination wizard on the Ethereal Plane use Portent on a creature that the wizard can see on the Material Plane?

A. Yes. Portent requires you to be able to see the creature, but it has no range restriction.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .