0
\$\begingroup\$

The Dungeon Master's Guide classifies an immovable rod as a rod rather than a wondrous item. Does this imply that it is a valid spellcasting focus? If not, what purpose does this classification serve?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ The first part of your question, I believe, has been asked by the linked question in the banner. The second part ("If not, what purpose does this classification serve?") should be a seperate question. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 5 at 1:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe this should be reworded, but the heart of my question is that no one I have ever seen uses the rod as if it's a spellcasting rod. It's always treated as a wondrous item device. Is the rod classification there to mark it as a spellcasting focus--the PHB makes clear not all rods are. See this question: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/129961/… \$\endgroup\$
    – raithyn
    Feb 5 at 1:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ I do not believe the linked question answers this question satisfactorily - Rod is listed as a type of arcane focus, which is the crux of this question. \$\endgroup\$ Feb 5 at 20:29