4
\$\begingroup\$

My character recently obtained a Ring of Telekinesis:

While wearing this ring, you can cast the Telekinesis spell at will, but you can target only Objects that aren't being worn or carried.

I also happen to have some unbreakable rope. Since the Telekinesis spell allows me to

...exert fine control on Objects with your Telekinetic grip, such as manipulating a simple tool, opening a door or a container, stowing or retrieving an item from an open container, or pouring the contents from a vial

Could I use my action to wrap/tie an opponent in rope, and then move the rope into the air, dragging them along?

\$\endgroup\$
1

3 Answers 3

7
\$\begingroup\$

The clear intent of the item is to manipulate objects and to exclude manipulating other creatures. Getting extremely technical about what it means to "wear or carry" an item in an effort to sneak around that limitation seems like cheese to me.

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

I could see an enemy wrapped in rope "wearing" said rope, thereby not allowing you to continue exerting control over the rope with Telekinesis. This interpretation stands in contrast to this answer which basically says "everything on a characters item sheet is worn or carried", and I feel an enemy rope binding you would not end up on your inventory, so to speak.

If this decision was up to me as DM, I would allow it, but YMMV.

EDIT: Addendum: in the case of allowing it, I would, however, grant the ensnared creature a STR saving throw against being moved, similar to the Immovable Rod's DC 30 STR check to move the rod, but probably lower.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

No

Firstly, you cannot just use an action to tie someone up that will resist being tied up, fine control or not. You can exert fine control over a rope with your own two hands too, but that does not mean you can just tie an opponent in combat, or even tie the rope to them, if they do not want to. Otherwise, this would be an extremely effective tactic agains the PCs, just have a swarm of kobolds with ropes tie everyone up, combat over. So, this tactic fails at step one.

In addition, when you wrap a creature in rope or tie them up, one argue that the creature carries the rope. The game has no detailed defintion of "worn or carried", so one would default to the dictionary meaning, which is (for example from Oxford Languages)

support the weight of

But arguing semantics is beside the point here: the goal of this phrase is to stop exactly the kinds of exploit you have in mind: to remove a combatant, or make them ineffective, buy messing with things they hold, wear, or that are on their person through game features that afford no saving throws or other way for them to counteract. These are cheap exploits that would be no fun if used against the PCs, and also no fun if used repeatedly turning fights into auto-wins, and so the DM should stop them.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .