Can a rogue use the Steady Aim optional class feature (Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, p. 62) with attack spells?

Steady Aim Lv3 Rogue optional ability states you take a bonus act to gain advantage on the next attack roll you make.

I have a Rogue Warlock that has Eldritch Blast cantrip. Can he then use Steady Aim with his first Eldritch Blast?

I know EB is a RSA, yet the ability specifically states "advantage on the next attack roll". So does it work with spells that requires an attack roll?


1 Answer 1



Steady Aim states:

As a bonus action, you give yourself advantage on your next attack roll on the current turn...

Anything requiring an attack roll is an attack as stated on page 194 of the PHB:

If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.

This includes spells that require an attack roll and there's nothing in Steady Aim's description to exclude spell attacks. If the spell doesn't require an attack roll though then the answer is no, you can't use Steady Aim with that spell.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .