9
\$\begingroup\$

The Divine Soul Sorcerer can gain access to the revivify spell pretty easily (along with other costly resurrection spells), which has a costly material component that the spell consumes (300 gp worth of diamonds).

If after a particularly rough battle, can the Sorcerer use revivify on two separate creatures who have died for the cost of just 300 gp worth of diamonds or would it require 600 gp worth?

For the sake of this question, assume that a dead creature is a creature and not an object. If it helps, you could consider the stoneskin spell as well.

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

Twinned Spell simply lets you target a second creature; it doesn't make you cast the spell twice. This is specifically stated in its description:

[...] target a second creature in range with the same spell...

Therefore you are only casting the spell once and only have to provide the material components once.

And, even though Mike Mearls and (his) tweets aren't official rulings, I think Mike describes it simply but concisely in a tweet on a related subject:

One spell instance, two targets.

\$\endgroup\$
8
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ An interesting extension to this answer (or perhaps a new question) might be to discuss whether there are any twinnable spells that interact with their components in such a way that would be ambiguous when twinned. \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan C. Thompson Feb 25 at 1:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ To save money on raising the dead, just kill your local zealot and twin the raise dead spell on them and your friend (YMMV) \$\endgroup\$ – Daveman Feb 25 at 2:32
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I think the greatest shenanigan potential is twinning Imprisonment on two people who don't like each other. \$\endgroup\$ – Ryan C. Thompson Feb 25 at 6:26
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @RyanC.Thompson I definitely think that would be worth it own question. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Feb 25 at 9:33
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @RyanC.Thompson Warding Bond would be an excellent spell to bring into question for ambiguity, though a cursory look shows that people have been confused on that one for a while \$\endgroup\$ – Zaelin Goodman Feb 25 at 13:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.