2
\$\begingroup\$

In Tasha's Primal Companion feature it doesn't say that the beast doesn't roll initiative, just that it acts during the player's turn. Is that enough to mean that it's the player that has to roll initiative?

I assume the answer is yes, but it would be nice if you were playing a strength build ranger, or to take advantage of the Primal Bond.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Mar 1 at 22:00
7
\$\begingroup\$

You roll initiative, not your companion.

Primal Companion says:

In combat, the beast acts during your turn.

Normally, participants in a combat will roll initiative, but this rule creates an exception:

Remember this: If a specific rule contradicts a general rule, the specific rule wins.

Instead of following the general rule and having the companion roll initiative, it acts on your turn instead, which is determined by your initiative roll.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.