2
\$\begingroup\$

If a level 10 chronomancy wizard ritual casts water breathing could they use arcane abeyance to put it in a bead for later?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You are dropping a lot of questions very quickly. You may want to slow down a bit as it looks like you're not even trying to figure these things out on your own first (aka no research effort.) \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Mar 3 at 15:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch ok! I had done some research on this but it was to settle an argument between me and a friend! I was told on another post to put individual questions in their own post and not group similar ones. the reason I am posting so many is that I had a bunch of questions saved up between me and others and i am just now having a chance to post! i am happy to let this be my last one for a bit! i was just trying to get some clarification \$\endgroup\$ – Ayden s Mar 3 at 15:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: "Can Arcane Abeyance allow you to cast a spell longer than one action in one action?" \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 3 at 15:57
13
\$\begingroup\$

Arcane Abeyance only works with spells cast using spell slots, which ritual-cast spells are not

The Arcane Abeyance features states (emphasis mine):

When you cast a spell using a spell slot of 4th level or lower, you can condense the spell's magic into a mote. [...]

However, the section on "Rituals" states:

[...] The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be cast at a higher level. [...]

Because ritual-cast spells do not expend a spell slot, they cannot be used with Arcane Abeyance.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.