9
\$\begingroup\$

So the text for the Nature's Mantle in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything states:

while wearing the cloak, you can use it as a focus for your druid and ranger spells." Other foci specify "while holding the focus.

So does mean that by wearing it you do not need a hand free to access mundane material components? Thank you!

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Was wondering about this, and same for using a Genie's Vessel ring (with a compartment) as a focus for a warlock with Genie as a patron (Tasha's pg 73-74). \$\endgroup\$
    – Weiramon
    Mar 4, 2021 at 19:42

1 Answer 1

13
\$\begingroup\$

Only if the spell does not also have somatic components.

So the general rule is this:

A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.

The Nature's Mantle creates an exception to this rule when it says:

While wearing the cloak, you can use it as a spellcasting focus for your druid and ranger spells.

You don't have to hold it in hand, the only condition for its use is "while wearing the cloak".

But this does not excuse somatic components:

Spellcasting gestures might include a forceful gesticulation or an intricate set of gestures. If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.

So if the spell requires both S and M components, you still need a free hand to perform the S components. If the Spell is (V,M), then the cloak allows you to cast the spell hands-free.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .