6
\$\begingroup\$

On the topic of mirror image and shield combo, lets say a creature successfully attacks the real one and then the defender decides to use shield as a reaction, which comes first and which has priority?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Anyway, welcome to the stack! Take the tour and review the articles at the help center to get acquainted with how we do things here. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Mar 7 at 12:40
15
\$\begingroup\$

Mirror image is resolved before shield can be cast.

Shield requires that you be hit by an attack, having a casting time of 1 Reaction:

which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell

Mirror image is triggered before you are hit with an attack:

Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell's duration, roll a d20 to determine whether the attack instead targets one of your duplicates.

So mirror image is always resolved before the trigger for shield can even happen.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Might be worth going into further explanation for if the caster is targeted by magic missile instead since the wording for the shield spell differs. \$\endgroup\$ – Clarus_Nox Mar 8 at 1:37
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Clarus_Nox OP seems to ask specifically about attacks. But the ruling is that magic missile ignores mirror image entirely. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Mar 8 at 1:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.