1. I was thinking of using Spell damage to knockdown a dead Tree trunk in order for it to land on two/three skeletons and therefore pinning them effectively in place.

  2. Assuming having 1 Torch lit only with an all-human party (and I am Chaotic Evil), I was thinking of aiming my spell on the Torch effectively putting it out and make my quick getaway.

Are these possible scenarios?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Take the tour. Which game (and edition) are you asking about? \$\endgroup\$
    – MikeQ
    Mar 11, 2021 at 7:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Which spell did you want to use? \$\endgroup\$
    – NotArch
    Mar 11, 2021 at 13:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ These seems like two separate, but very answerable questions. 1) Can a character use spell damage to knock down a tree in order to pin opponents (e.g. skeletons) under it? 2) can a character use a spell damage to snuff a torch? I suggest asking the first question on it's own. So, just remove the 2nd case and reword the title. \$\endgroup\$
    – GcL
    Mar 11, 2021 at 17:17

1 Answer 1


Of course you can damage objects in battle. There aren't very many rules about it, but DMs can easily rule on such things. There are HP values for common items in the DMG. Things to note include:

  • Many spells will not do damage to objects
  • it's probably harder to hit a torch than you think
  • dropping things on mobs isn't an automatic win (and anything you can do they can do as well)
  • the Rule of Cool can be used to maximum effect doing these kinds of things. Go for it!

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .