6
\$\begingroup\$

You can use Ready only for single actions:

You prepare to use an action that will occur outside your turn. Choose a single action or free action you can use, and designate a trigger. Your turn then ends.

However, every cantrip you would want to Ready in combat takes 2 actions. Do you have to carry around a Sling just for Ready actions?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MJdenis Please don't answer in comments, including link only. Please put that up as a full answer and use the video as additional explanation (or credit it for the elegance of explaination, as needed). \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Mar 16 '21 at 21:19
6
\$\begingroup\$

2 or 3 action activities cannot be Readied

You've properly quoted the Ready activity, and you are correct; most combat cantrips are two action activities, and thus cannot be Readied. Any one action spell should be Ready-able, however, such as a one action Magic Missile or one action Harm.

Try Delay

While you cannot Ready the spells you are wanting to, you could simply Delay your turn. Yes, you have to wait for the enemy to finish their turn, but you can cast all sorts of spells in response.

Quickened Casting (Homebrew Solution)

Your GM might allow Quickened Casting to Ready a 2 action spell (which most of the combat cantrips are) - see this question.

Variable Action Ready (Homebrew Solution)

I think this may be left over from the playtest, but you could allow for readying a 2 action activity by spending all 3 actions on Ready. This keeps the "tax" of Readying the same (1 action, 1 reaction). It is not what the rules allow for, though it may work for your needs.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Quickened does not work RAW because Ready is an action you take in between Quicken and the spell... although I'd probably allow it. I also support the Hombrew you suggest, although adding some experience/player reception besides my endorsement would be good too \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Mar 16 '21 at 21:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Ifusaso I personally don't use the homebrew solution in my game (other than one time when I thought it was the RAW on accident...). As for the Ready and Quickened Casting, I think it is a bit ambiguous; it might be worth another question. I could see a RAW argument for allowing it, considering the action sequence would seemingly be: Ready <X>X> {end turn} -> Quickened <F> -> Spell <X>. <F> meaning free action \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Mar 16 '21 at 21:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ I didn't think about whether you could use a Free action as part of a Ready... definitely another valid question. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Mar 16 '21 at 23:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ My take on it is that you are not able to do that \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Mar 17 '21 at 2:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .