1
\$\begingroup\$

A hollyphant projects an Aura of Invulnerability, that protects it from spells. Dreb, a barbed devil, attacks the hollyphant using its Hurl Flame action, which is a Ranged Spell Attack. Can the flame hit and damage the hollyphant?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

5
\$\begingroup\$

Hurl Flame is not a spell of 5th level or lower.

Aura of Invulnerability says:

Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t affect creatures or objects within it

Hurl Flame is not a spell of 5th level or lower, so it ignores Hollyphant's aura.

The Sage Advice Compendium clarifies that it is intentional that spell attacks are not always made by casting a spell, in the context of opportunity attacks being made with melee spell attacks:

A few monsters can make opportunity attacks with melee spell attacks. Here’s how: certain monsters—including the banshee, the lich, and the specter—have a melee spell attack that isn’t delivered by a spell. For example, the banshee’s Corrupting Touch action is a melee spell attack but no spell is cast to make it. The banshee can, therefore, make opportunity attacks with Corrupting Touch.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .