2
\$\begingroup\$

I have been asked by one of my players “can I touch myself with a spell the has a range of touch?” Most touch spell say “you touch a willing creature of your choice,” or something along those lines. And my judgement is that you’re willing if you want to impose the effects on yourself. So I say, a touch spell is a spell that is kind of like a self that you can also use on other creatures or characters. Please correct me if I’m wrong and tell if I’m right.

\$\endgroup\$
0
1
\$\begingroup\$

You can target yourself with Touch-range spells

The rules on Spellcasting, in particular, the rules on "Targeting Yourself" state:

[...] If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself. [...]

As such, if a spell has a range of "Touch" and does not specifically require you to target a creature that is not yourself, you can target yourself with that spell, assuming you are able to actually target yourself in the first place.

I can't actually think of any Touch-range spells that require you to target a creature other than yourself, but there are still Touch-range spells that you simply cannot target yourself with due to other targeting requirements. For example, the beast sense spell only targets beasts, so you (most likely) cannot target yourself with that spell.

The rules on "Range" also state the following (emphasis mine) which agrees with this stance that you can target yourself with Touch-range spells:

[...] Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. [...]

\$\endgroup\$

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.