One of my players is playing an Artificer, and has just reached level 2. Reading the infusion rules, we are both a little confused as they seem to contradict.
The description of the Infuse Item feature seems to say that Infusions last indefinitely until either the Artificer dies, places the same infusion on a different item, or loses the knowledge of that infusion. I take to mean that over time an artificer can have every infusion running on multiple items.
For instance, the artificer knows 6 infusions. Day 1, he casts 1 and 2 on his armour and a weapon; day 2, he casts 3 and 4 on a different party member's equipment; and day 3, he casts the final 2 on a different party member.
Is this the right application of the rules? To me, it makes sense. Otherwise, what is the point of having a class that makes magic items?