4
\$\begingroup\$

This question is about the Armorer artificer's Armor Model feature. The description of the Guardian armor model's Thunder Gauntlets says (TCoE, p. 16):

Thunder Gauntlets. Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it, and it deals 1d8 thunder damage on a hit. A creature hit by the gauntlet has disadvantage on attack rolls against targets other than you until the start of your next turn, as the armor magically emits a distracting pulse when the creature attacks someone else.

Can you wield a shield (or weapon) with one gauntlet, and still make the special attack with your other hand? Or do I need both gauntlets free to do this?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

9
\$\begingroup\$

Each gauntlet is an individual melee weapon.

The Thunder Gauntlets state:

Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it.

This indicates that each gauntlet is individually a simple melee weapon, each wielded in one hand.

So you can wield something in one hand and use a Thunder Gauntlet with the other, with all the benefits a Thunder Gauntlet brings.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's important to note that all the normal rules for two-weapon fighting still apply, and the Thunder Gauntlets aren't light weapons. \$\endgroup\$
    – gto
    Commented Jun 21, 2021 at 0:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .