9
\$\begingroup\$

Sethix the Swashbuckler has been Swallowed Whole by a T-Rex. In order to help cut his way out, Sethix wants to Feint to gain Panache, since he is a Fencer Swashbuckler. Is this something Sethix can do? I'm aware the flat-footed condition would be redundant, but that's not the point here, perhaps Sethix has Goading Feint, or perhaps he really doesn't care.

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

Technically, you can attempt to Feint against a creature that has swallowed you

From a pure mechanics standpoint, nothing prevents you from Feinting. Being Swallowed Whole imposes the Grabbed (which imposes Flat-Footed and Immobilized) condition and you are Slowed 1 . Since you're Immobilized, you can't take actions with the Move trait, and attempts to use the Manipulate action have a chance to automatically fail.

To attempt a Feint, you need to be within melee reach of the target, and that's it. The Feint action has neither the Move nor the Manipulate trait, it only has the Mental trait. As part of the Feint, you have to make a Deception check vs the targets Perception DC. This brings up the question of if you can Deceive a creature that can neither see nor hear you, but technically, Feint doesn't actually require that the target can perceive you. As far as I can tell, nothing in the rules actually prevents this, although Perception is referenced in a lot of places, so I may have missed something. So theoretically, you have a chance for success, and there aren't even any actual penalties to the attempt to boot.


That being said, were I the DM, this would automatically fail.

A Feint is an attempt to trick your opponent, by making a false blow or some other distraction, to try to get them to defend a location that you aren't actually attacking, in order to create an opening for you elsewhere. If a creature cannot perceive you, then you can't trick it.

\$\endgroup\$
9
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I think Paizo missed an opportunity to give Feint the Visual (or Auditory) Traits. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Apr 9 at 20:53
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there any sort of genericized line of effect thing we could be missing here? I guess Sethix still has line of sight and effect to the T-Rex, but just its stomach... \$\endgroup\$ – ESCE Apr 9 at 23:09
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Agreed, auto-fail. What in particular is Sethix trying to mislead with his feint? The T-Rex's stomach? How much room is there in a T-Rex stomach? Surely it is a fairly constricted environment to attempt anything in... \$\endgroup\$ – railsdog Apr 10 at 3:15
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I would rather ask my player "How exactly are you going to do that?" and let him decide it is of no use himself. Or surprise me with an answer that will make me say "OK". \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Apr 12 at 0:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Mołot I'm all for letting players come up with creative solutions to problems, but I don't think that it's reasonable to give them a chance to do something that should be physically impossible. \$\endgroup\$ – RevanantBacon Apr 12 at 13:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.