My friend is playing as a cleric that uses a shield in combat. I am unsure of how the rules for sheathing/dropping weapons work. The way my friend is playing, he seems to be able to cast a spell and use a weapon attack on the same turn, but this feels wrong to me.

Is this loop allowed in the rules:

Combat starts: Uses action to attack and then sheathes/drops weapon (using free object interaction) Uses bonus action to cast spell with somatic component

2nd round: Uses bonus action to cast spell again, Uses action to draw/pick up weapon and attack.


Using this loop, the cleric can always cast a somatic spell (provided it is a bonus action), attack with a weapon, and benefit from shield AC every round of the combat. Is this right? Being able to draw/sheathe a weapon for free each turn seems to make the warcaster feat pointless (save for concentration buff)

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Apr 10, 2021 at 20:31

1 Answer 1


A cleric's holy symbol may be borne on their shield, allowing them to use it as a spellcasting focus. As a result, they can cast V, M or V, S, M spells with a weapon in their other hand without any difficulty or juggling at all, but V, S spells would require a free hand.

The loop you've described would work, yes. You give up attacks of opportunity during the turn off, though, and you can't do other object interactions.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .