5
\$\begingroup\$

The latest Unearthed Arcana includes a spell Flame Stride:

The billowing flames of a dragon cover your feet, granting you explosive speed. For the duration, your speed increases by 20 feet and moving doesn’t provoke opportunity attacks.
When you move within 5 feet of a creature or object that isn’t being worn or carried, it takes 1d6 fire damage from your trail of heat. A creature or object can take this damage only once during a turn.

The spell specifies when you move, so a creature approaching you would not take the damage. but what if the character was hit by a Thunderwave spell and knocked back 10 feet, would any creatures the character passes or finishes movement next too still take the flame stride damage?

\$\endgroup\$
2
11
\$\begingroup\$

If a feature requires that movement be willing, it will say so.

Consider booming blade:

If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends.

Features tell you when movement must be willing movement to trigger the feature. How else are you supposed to know that it requires willing movement? Since Flame Stride does not specify that movement must be willing, it does not have to be willing.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Booming Blade is just about the only feature that actually uses the term "willing". It's often used as shorthand for "moving using your Movement, Action, or Bonus Action" as seen in Opportunity Attack rules, but you still provoke OAs if you are forced to run away (using your movement) - which wouldn't trigger BB. \$\endgroup\$
    – Adeptus
    Apr 16 '21 at 2:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Dissonant Whispers is one such spell that causes unwilling movement that consumes the creatures reaction to move. dndbeyond.com/spells/dissonant-whispers For areas of effect, this would trigger the damage for them as the creature enters, but it wouldn't trigger Booming Blade. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 19 '21 at 15:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PaydenK.Pringle Most AoEs will also trigger on forced movement as long they say: "When a creature moves into the spell's area for the first time on a turn" or similar. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fey Long
    yesterday
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Adeptus Is there an accurate example of implicit shorthand, because the OA rules don't support this since they had to add the paragraph: "You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction. For example, you don't provoke an opportunity attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe's reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy." \$\endgroup\$
    – Fey Long
    yesterday

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .