7
\$\begingroup\$

As stated in the Wild Shape druid feature (emphasis mine):

You choose whether your equipment falls to the ground in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it.

As far as I know, this means that any equipment that the druid chooses to merge into their new form is inaccessible until they are out of their Wild Shape.

Is there any way to steal a merged item from a Wild Shaped druid without causing them to revert to their natural form?

\$\endgroup\$
3
4
\$\begingroup\$

Wish

tl;dr Short of the spell that can toss most of reality's constraints the game rules on their head, retrieving equipment merged into a druid's wildshape requires reverting the druid out of that wildshape.

Merged meaning

When the equipment merges into the wildshape, it "become combined into one". There is no separating it from the shape as they are the same for the duration.

Using Wish

Luckily, this reality does not have to be for a sufficiently enterprising or reckless character as wish doesn't need to be bound by reality:

By simply speaking aloud, you can alter the very foundations of reality in accord with your desires.

So the reality of the equipment being merged into one with the druid in wildshape can be altered by using wish.

Risks

You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the GM as precisely as possible. The GM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance; the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong.

One would expect expending a high level and rare resource to retrieve a less valuable item from the possession of another creature is unlikely to incur "something goes wrong", but caveat castor as there is a tradition of DMs twisting reality bending wishes.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ It would be caveat caster; caveat is the 'beware' portion \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Apr 15 at 20:31
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ There's also the question of "Is the 33% chance of never casting Wish again worth the risk just to get this thing from the druid?" \$\endgroup\$ Apr 15 at 20:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ @BaconyRevanant If the thing in question was a bag of holding full of wish scrolls it might be worth the risk. \$\endgroup\$
    – Jonathan
    Apr 15 at 21:23
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Jonathan but even then, what use would have all those scrolls? If you lose the ability to cast wish just to get those scrolls, those would definitely not be of any use to you. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 15 at 21:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Jonathan that would be the kind of thing that I would expect the DM to mess with the player over. E.g. they get a bear's bladder that functions as a bag of holding, and it's filled with rolled up papers that have "you WISH this was a spell" written on them. \$\endgroup\$
    – GcL
    Apr 16 at 15:03

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .