7
\$\begingroup\$

Let's assume I am playing my character in Pathfinder 2 and am attempting to stab my foe. This foe is clumsy 3 (because of a spell my friend casted earlier) and I somehow also have it flat-footed.

As far as I know being clumsy gives a status penalty to AC, as does being flat-footed, and those two penalties of the same type don't stack (so the total penalty would be -3). However pretty much anyone I played with seems to consider they stack (and thus in the former example the foe should have a total penalty of -5). Are they correct?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Clumsy causes a status penalty. Flat-footed causes a circumstance penalty. These are different types of penalty, so both apply, as per the rules on modifiers.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.