5
\$\begingroup\$

The Swarmkeeper ranger from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 60) has the Gathered Swarm feature, which provides the following benefit:

Once on each of your turns, you can cause the swarm to assist you in one of the following ways, immediately after you hit a creature with an attack:

  • [...]
  • You are moved by the swarm 5 feet horizontally in a direction of your choice.

If you use this feature to leave the reach of a creature, does this movement provoke an opportunity attack?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ No idea why this is downvoted; this is a perfectly-reasonable question. On the off-chance that it is the explanation for the voting, may I remind everyone that self-answered questions are not only allowed, but encouraged, on this site. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Apr 25 at 14:56
8
\$\begingroup\$

No, it doesn't

The rules for opportunity attacks state the following (emphasis mine):

You don’t provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

Gathered Swarm clearly states that the swarm moves you. Furthermore, this movement does not use your action (as it is a rider effect on an attack), and it doesn't use your own movement. Therefore, you do not provoke an opportunity attack.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.