7
\$\begingroup\$

I am playing a half-orc fighter level 7 and warlock level 3. When I gain a warlock class level, I will gain an Eldritch Invocation, and I will pick Thirsting Blade.

How many attacks can I make, since I have both Thirsting Blade and Extra Attack?

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Point of note, the prerequisite for Thirsting Blade is "5th level, Pact of the Blade". If you are only level 3 now, you'll need to gain at least 2 level, and be Pact of the Blade \$\endgroup\$
    – MivaScott
    Apr 26 at 20:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov the linked answer says "Since you only get Extra Attack as a Warlock if you multiclass and you only get Thirsting Blade as a non-Warlock if you multiclass, this rule always applies and you can never use them together" and quotes the rule "the warlock's eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn't give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack". How is this different? \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Apr 26 at 20:25
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor Duplicate answers does not mean duplicate questions. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 26 at 20:26
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I considered, and rejected, the same duplicate, because really that question seems like an extension of this one—we had just skipped the more basic question originally. I think there’s value in having the basic question addressed first, and the other question can exist as a “but wait, what if you try to get maximally pedantic?” \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Apr 27 at 13:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Apr 27 at 18:57
12
\$\begingroup\$

Thirsting Blade does nothing if you have Extra Attack from another class.

The rules for multiclassing (chapter 6 of the Player's Handbook) state:

the warlock's eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn't give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack.

So the Thirsting Blade invocation does nothing for you. So you get to pick a different invocation!

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks so much! I was using a website, which is an amazing site that has a lot of info but it said nothing of "the warlock's eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn't give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack.". \$\endgroup\$
    – MemeMan
    Apr 26 at 20:14
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @MikeZ. It's in the section with the multiclassing rules, that's probably why. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 26 at 20:19
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @MikeZ. The same way that the Monk and Barbarian have their AC set to a specific value rather than getting a bonus to their AC (and so cannot be combined for a multiclass Barbarian/Monk); when you get an extra attack, the ability spells out for you exactly how many attacks you now have, rather than giving you an additional attack that could combine with similar abilities. \$\endgroup\$ Apr 26 at 21:19
29
\$\begingroup\$

Firstly, minor point, you need to be level 5, not 4, to take Thirsting Blade:

Prerequisite: 5th level, Pact of the Blade feature

And it states:

You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Extra Attack says the same thing:

Beginning at 5th Level, you can Attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on Your Turn.

So the limit is still two attacks per turn.

But it is even more explicitly stated in the multiclassing section:

If you gain the Extra Attack class feature from more than one class, the features don't add together. You can't make more than two attacks with this feature unless it says you do (as the fighter's version of Extra Attack does). Similarly, the warlock's eldritch invocation Thirsting Blade doesn't give you additional attacks if you also have Extra Attack.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .