How does underwater combat work with Soul Knives'/Bolts'?

Do they get the same penalties as regular weapons under water? Does a Soulbolt's Mind Bolt still have -2 per 5 feet ranged weapon penalties under water with Launch the Soulbolt ability?


1 Answer 1


The normal rules for water combat would apply, however you can have the weapon deal piercing damage which will allow you to do normal damage if you have a swim speed, firm footing or freedom of movement as per the water combat rules.

When shaping her weapon and assigning abilities to it, the soulknife chooses whether it will deal bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage.

Mind Bolts from the soulbolt archetype should follow the range weapon water combat rules.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Since you mentioned "swim speed" then that means you can charge under water or on the surface of the water to right? \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 5, 2021 at 1:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes you can charge with any type of movement e.g. fly or swim as long as you are not hindered in your movement. So if you have a swim speed or freedom of movement, it does not hinder your movement and you can charge. See legacy.aonprd.com/coreRuleBook/combat.html#charge and rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/64365/…. \$\endgroup\$
    – WispyCloud
    Commented May 5, 2021 at 2:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .