17
\$\begingroup\$

When I use the green-flame blade cantrip to attack a creature, then it can bounce the flame to a creature within 5 feet of my target.

If there is no enemy within 5 feet of my target, but there is a friendly character within that distance, must the friendly character take the fire damage? Or can I simply ignore the bouncing in this situation, meaning the friendly character is not damaged?

\$\endgroup\$
1
30
\$\begingroup\$

It is optional.

The description of the green-flame blade spell states (SCAG p. 143, emphasis mine):

you can cause green fire to leap from the target to a different creature of your choice

It says you “can”, indicating there is a choice.

Notably, this wording was introduced in the November 2020 errata for the Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide. Prior to this change, the description of green-flame blade said:

On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and green fire leaps from the target to a different creature of your choice

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ This came up in our game a few months ago, and our DM ruled the same way. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast May 5 at 12:24
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ What's interesting is that in the linked question has a different wording. In November of 2020 an errata was released with the "can" wording. \$\endgroup\$ – Captain Man May 5 at 21:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.