1
\$\begingroup\$

So I was play testing a monster and it was made of water. The character I was using had the control water spell so I am wondering what would happen if I was to use that spell on a living monster such as a Water Elemental or a Water Weird.

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

The water in elementals is presumably not freestanding

Ok, this comes down to a reading and meaning of terms the game doesn't define, but control water requires the targeting of freestanding water:

Until the spell ends, you control any freestanding water inside an area you choose that is a cube up to 100 feet on a side.

And if the water is bound up in an elemental or similar, it is not freestanding. For more on that, see: What the heck is "freestanding water"?

As such, the water in the elemental is ineligible as a target for control water.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Nice link! I was looking for a way to back up the "freestanding" bit and that answer does it quite well \$\endgroup\$ – G. Moylan May 7 at 21:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.