9
\$\begingroup\$

On an initiative roll in Cyberpunk Red, can you roll a critical success or a critical failure?

The Cyberpunk Red Jumpstart Kit rules read, "When you roll a natural roll of 10 on your d10, you've scored a Critical Success" (20), but this is in the context of "Resolving Actions with Skills" - which may be a different context from an initiative roll.

For initiative, the rules merely say, "When a combat starts, everyone rolls Initiative: Initiative = REF + 1d10" (24), and they make no mention of the possibility of a critical success or a critical failure.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

As far as I can tell, Critical Success or Failure only happens on a Skill check (see p130), and Initiative is not a Skill check, despite looking very similar. A Skill check, as defined on p129, is Stat+Skill+1d10 vs a difficulty, whereas initiative is Stat (Ref) +1d10.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.