The rules for Tides of Chaos are:
Starting at 1st level, you can manipulate the forces of chance and chaos to gain advantage on one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw. Once you do so you must finish a long rest before you use this feature again.
Any time before you regain the use of this feature, the DM can have you roll on the Wild Magic Surge table immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. You then regain the use of this feature.
Is it possible for the DM to immediately reset Tides of Chaos? Consider the following turn:
- I declare I'm using ToC to gain advantage on my next attack. I mark it as spent and have the ToC "buff"
- I cast Chaos Bolt with advantage. T
- Because I just cast a 1st level spell, my DM has me roll on the surge table and reset ToC
Is there something I'm missing in the order of operations that would prevent this? The related question here says that the spell cast completes before you roll to check Wild Magic Surge so I assume the same applies to ToC. It seems wrong that its possible to constantly reset advantage as long as you have spell slots, but perhaps its allowed because its up to the DM to control it.