6
\$\begingroup\$

If I have an item I can't attune to, (e.g. a Dwarvern Thrower for a non dwarf or a robe of the Archmagi if I'm not a Spellcaster): can I still find out what it is after a short rest?

I am not asking how to identify it, I'm asking if the fact I can't attune to it prevents me from identifying it.

\$\endgroup\$
0
8
\$\begingroup\$

A short rest will suffice.

The rules for using a magic item state:

At the end of the rest, the character learns the item’s properties, as well as how to use them.

After a short rest with the item, you learn its properties and how to use it. The particular attunement requirements are "properties" of the item. There are no class based restrictions on learning via short rest what an item's properties are.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.