One of the first 5e character concepts I heard people discussing was the so-called “Megaman Warlock,” based on using monster weapons as pact weapons since the Player’s Handbook rules text for Pact of the Blade seems to suggest that the warlock would be proficient with these weapons. (Word of god on the subject is that they are not.)
Even with that understanding, though, the inability to have more than one pact weapon at the time meant it wasn’t terribly useful. Answers to a previous question of mine suggest that ultimately, it’s very difficult for Pact of the Blade warlocks to make much, if any, use of the ability to use any weapon—you’re better off just picking the best weapon available and sticking with it, which ultimately isn’t all that different from what a warlock of the Hexblade patron could do from 1st level.
Further, generally speaking, Pact of the Blade is considered sub-par. Hexblade does it better, and even copying its best feature to Pact of the Blade doesn’t make the Pact imbalanced. So I want to improve it.
Which gets me thinking about Megaman Warlocks again—what if we could use monster weapons? And we could have as many pact weapons as we like (but only summon one at a time)? Maybe it should be an invocation, so here is what I’m thinking:
Mega Pact Weapon
Prerequisite: Pact of the Blade feature
Your ability to turn a weapon into a pact weapon improves in the following ways:
- You can turn a weapon into a pact weapon as an action.
- You can turn any weapon that is neither sentient nor an artifact into a pact weapon. This includes improvised and/or nonmagical weapons, as well as weapons that are neither simple nor martial.
- You can turn any number of weapons into pact weapons.
As usual, you are always proficient with a pact weapon, even if you use this invocation to turn an improvised or highly unusual weapon into a pact weapon.
Your ability to conjure weapons you have turned into pact weapons also improves:
- You can summon one as an item interaction.
- You can resize one, and/or remove the Heavy property, when you summon it. If you do, the DM adjusts its damage appropriately.
This invocation does not grant you the ability to summon multiple pact weapons. You may need to dismiss a previously-summoned pact weapons in order to conjure and use a different one.
This invocation also has no effect on your ability to conjure pact weapons that weren’t previously weapons you had found and turned into pact weapons. Those remain subject to exactly the same limitations that they had without this invocation.
Is this a balanced invocation? Is it a good invocation? Its most obvious competition is Improved Pact Weapon, it seems to me (though you could take both), so perhaps analysis should start there.
The other thing I’m unsure about is whether I should have actual rules for resizing weapons/removing Heavy and determining the appropriate damage, or if it’s more appropriate to leave to the DM. Perhaps a sidebar for DMs would be best, giving guidance but leaving the ultimate decision in their hands. Ultimately, it’s inescapable that the power of this ability is going to be heavily predicated on the enemies the DM chooses to use. You may presume that the DM wants this character to work as advertised, and will make an effort to include monsters that have useful or interesting weapons at the appropriate CRs.