15
\$\begingroup\$

As a wizard, I cast spells and such, then die. I have a clone set up in my demiplane. When I "wake up" my clones body, do I have all my expended spell slots back?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Just ti be clear: was your clone created with the Clone spell? Or was it created in another way? \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    May 18 at 6:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ clone spell, granted i dont know any other ways \$\endgroup\$
    – Ayden s
    May 19 at 23:50
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ As a note since the bounty grace period is close to ending, I've updated my answer to add a little bit more support. Unfortunately, I've been unable to find anything more authoritative. For instance, Jeremy Crawford doesn't appear to have tweeted anything on the subject, nor is Clone mentioned in the Sage Advice Compendium. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ryan M
    May 28 at 0:50
2
\$\begingroup\$

No, you don't regain expended spell slots

The spell description includes the following text:

This spell grows an inert duplicate of a living creature as a safeguard against death.

If the clone were an entirely new creature then this sentence would make no sense. The clone spell is a get out of death method for certain spellcasters which lets them immediately revive if their current body dies. Their soul moves into the new body and they get all of the memories, abilities etc. that they had when they died. However, since they are still the same being, the rules on regaining spell slots still apply and they don't regain any expended spell slots.

Allowing them to do so would offer some overbalancing character options. Provided they had the resources they could create an army of clones and when they ran out of spell slots they could commit suicide, reawaken as a fully prepared clone, and teleport straight back into the action repeatedly.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ While I generally agree, that army-of-clones strategy would be exceedingly expensive given the 3,000 gp of resources that it takes to cast the spell. It'd be far cheaper to just hire mercenaries. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ryan M
    May 19 at 1:27
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @RyanM It's a level 8 spell. A character who is high enough level to cast it should be swimming in wealth. Especially since at level 9 they will have access to wish which can literally be used to make an item worth 25,000 GP. \$\endgroup\$ May 19 at 2:11
2
\$\begingroup\$

No, you don't regain expended spell slots

Assuming this clone was created by the Clone spell, the spell description states (emphasis added):

At any time after the clone matures, if the original creature dies, its soul transfers to the clone, provided that the soul is free and willing to return. The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original's equipment.

This implies that abilities and related things are tied to the soul, rather than the body—for instance, you still have any new abilities, levels, new total spell slots (that may or may not be available before a long rest), etc. that you've gained since the clone of the body was created. Since the original wouldn't have had the ability to use those expended spell slots, neither does the clone.

A well-regarded answer on a related question espouses this same principle for why a Cloned character does not regain the ability to cast Wish: spell-casting abilities are tied to the soul, not the physical body.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd be happy to get any feedback on issues with this answer so that I can improve it or any further answers, or remove it if it's entirely incorrect. \$\endgroup\$
    – Ryan M
    May 19 at 9:32
1
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, the clone wakes up with all its spell slots available

First of all, the clone is considered a distinct creature from the original, based on these passages from the spell text:

This spell grows an inert duplicate of a living, Medium creature as a safeguard against death.

At any time after the clone matures, if the original creature dies, its soul transfers to the clone, provided that the soul is free and willing to return. The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original's equipment.

Being a distinct creature means, among other things, that the clone has its own spell slots distinct from the original creature. So expending your spell slots prior to dying will not expend your clone's spell slots. The remaining issue, then, is the "initial state" the clone's spell slots. For this, we need to look to these passages from the description of spell slots in the Spellcasting chapter:

Regardless of how many spells a caster knows or prepares, he or she can cast only a limited number of spells before resting. Manipulating the fabric of magic and channeling its energy into even a simple spell is physically and mentally taxing, and higher-level spells are even more so. Thus, each spellcasting class's description (except that of the warlock) includes a table showing how many spell slots of each spell level a character can use at each character level.

When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell's level or higher, effectively "filling" a slot with the spell.

Finishing a long rest restores any expended spell slots.

From this, we can see that each spell slot generally represents the ability to cast one spell of that level per long rest (or per short rest, for warlocks). As with all other class, racial, and other features, this ability is inherited by the clone. Since the clone has never cast any spells prior to waking up, none of its spell slots are expended when it wakes up.

(As indirect evidence, this interpretation of spell slots is consistent with the wording used for many other once-per-rest features, which generally say something like "You can do X. You regain the ability to do so when you finish a long rest." Such abilities would also start out ready to use for a newly-awakened clone.)

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ You might want to leave an answer here rpg.stackexchange.com/q/91228/44723 \$\endgroup\$
    – Akixkisu
    May 18 at 12:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Akixkisu Hmm, I'd have to think a little more about how this answer applies to permanent loss or gain of an ability by the original creature. \$\endgroup\$ May 18 at 12:27
-3
\$\begingroup\$

The spell description does not say, so it is up to the DM. But it probably doesn't matter.

I am assuming you are talking about the result of a clone spell here. The description states that it produces

duplicate of a living creature

and

The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same Personality, memories, and Abilities, but none of the original's Equipment.

Now, nothing of that is talking about mental "resources" or even illnesses (which a missing spell slot could bethought of at kinda). Or even what the "duplicate" refers to.

In my opinion, you get the spellslots you had when originally casting clone, because that is when the duplicate was created. Given a lack of specification, I just assume a perfect duplicate.

On the other hand, it should not matter: you are safe in a demiplane, where you should have stashed food and a bedroll anyway. Just take that long rest.

Your real question is actually this: Are spellslots bound to the body or the soul? Another fine question where we don't have an answer either sadly. But maybe with this phrasing your DM can rule a more intuitive answer (like some sorcerers regain all of them or none depending on their origin/bloodline, warlocks none [because their source of spell slots is a deal made about their soul], wizards maybe a few because their now rested body can focus a bit better etc.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "Just taking that long rest" might not be an option if time is a factor, which is not terribly unlikely given that you just died. \$\endgroup\$ May 18 at 11:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.