The lineages in Van Richten's Guide (Dhampir, Hexblood and Reborn) all can now carry over certain aspects of their race (Swimming and Climbing speeds as well as any proficiencies). What I am curious about is if the Variant Human's free feat would also carry over into one of the lineages. It doesn't specifically say if does or not, and so I'm left confused as to how it works.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented May 21, 2021 at 20:19

1 Answer 1


Nothing carries over from your former race, except those things explicitly named in your new racial features.

The rules for lineages state:

If you choose a lineage, you might have once been a member of another race, but you aren’t any longer. You now possess only your lineage’s racial traits.

Each lineage has the trait Ancestral Legacy:

If you replace a race with this lineage, you can keep the following elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it.

Since the feat from Variant Human is none of these things, it is not retained.

This makes sense, as a full array of racial features plus a feat would be totally broken.

The lineages represent a full array of racial features. The Variant Human doesn't get any racial features besides a single skill and +1 to two ability scores. Giving a character a full feat on top of the racial features of a lineage would be extremely unbalanced.

  • \$\begingroup\$ However, if you were fortunate enough to take the "Skilled" feat as your variant human feat, it would carry over RAW. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mathaddict
    Commented May 28 at 16:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mathaddict I asked that question already, and it seems that is not the case. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 28 at 16:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ I am indicating that I have a difference of opinion with regard to that answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mathaddict
    Commented May 28 at 16:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mathaddict Indicate that difference with a detailed answer and I could be convinced to change my mind. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 28 at 17:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ It is done, hope you like it. I wonder if it'll be downvoted by the author of the other answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mathaddict
    Commented May 28 at 18:18

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .