3
\$\begingroup\$

Each of the lineages from Van Richten's Guide to Ravenloft has a feature called Ancestral Legacy, which states:

If you replace a race with this lineage, you can keep the following elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it.

Suppose a Variant Human takes the Prodigy feat at 1st level. Prodigy states:

You gain one skill proficiency of your choice, one tool proficiency of your choice, and fluency in one language of your choice.

Does the skill proficiency from Prodigy count as "gained from" your previous race for the purpose of retaining it when replacing your race with a lineage?

\$\endgroup\$
1
9
\$\begingroup\$

No.

You quote:

... you can keep the following elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it.

Further, The rules for lineages state (emphasis mine):

If you choose a lineage, you might have once been a member of another race, but you aren’t any longer. You now possess only your lineage’s racial traits.

This is quite clear in what exactly can carry over.

The Variant Human rules allow us to pick a feat as a racial ability, but what we get from such a feat isn't itself a racial ability. Further, bonuses granted as part of a feat are just that: part of the feat.

Prodigy doesn't say "add one skill proficiency of your choice to your list of racial skill bonuses." We gain the skill proficiency from the feat, not by virtue of being Variant Human.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .