5
\$\begingroup\$

Each of the lineages from Van Richten's Guide to Ravenloft has a feature called Ancestral Legacy, which states:

If you replace a race with this lineage, you can keep the following elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it.

Suppose a Variant Human takes the Prodigy feat at 1st level. Prodigy states:

You gain one skill proficiency of your choice, one tool proficiency of your choice, and fluency in one language of your choice.

Does the skill proficiency from Prodigy count as "gained from" your previous race for the purpose of retaining it when replacing your race with a lineage?

\$\endgroup\$
1

2 Answers 2

12
\$\begingroup\$

No.

You quote:

... you can keep the following elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it.

Further, The rules for lineages state (emphasis mine):

If you choose a lineage, you might have once been a member of another race, but you aren’t any longer. You now possess only your lineage’s racial traits.

This is quite clear in what exactly can carry over.

The Variant Human rules allow us to pick a feat as a racial ability, but what we get from such a feat isn't itself a racial ability. Further, bonuses granted as part of a feat are just that: part of the feat.

Prodigy doesn't say "add one skill proficiency of your choice to your list of racial skill bonuses." We gain the skill proficiency from the feat, not by virtue of being Variant Human.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Yes because of the transitivity of the word "gain"

What do the rules say?

Van Richten's Guide to Ravenloft (Reborn Traits)

Ancestral Legacy. If you replace a race with this lineage, you can keep the following elements of that race: any skill proficiencies you gained from it and any climbing, flying, or swimming speed you gained from it. If you don't keep any of those elements or you choose this lineage at character creation, you gain proficiency in two skills of your choice.

PHB Page 31 Variant Human Traits

...your Dungeon Master might allow these variant traits, all of which replace the human's Ability Score Increase trait.

Ability Score Increase. Two different ability scores of your choice increase by 1

Skills. You gain proficiency in one skill of your choice.

Feat. You gain one feat of your choice.

XGTE Page 75 (part of Prodigy feat)

You gain one skill proficiency of your choice...

First of all, I think we all agree that the one skill proficiency gained by being a variant human would carry over as we gained that skill from "it" meaning our race.

The only question is whether a skill gained by the "feat of your choice" that we gain counts for the purposes of the Ancestral Legacy. Ancestral Legacy doesn't say it cares about racial skills or racial abilities, only whether you gained the skill proficiency from your race. In the case of Variant human taking Prodigy, you gain the skill proficiency from the feat, which you gained from your race. This gain is directly transitive and all part of the same thing, so you have gained this skill from your race. In the same way you might gain a magic sword when you gain the treasure of the Ancient Dragon (if the sword is part of the treasure).

As far as this rule goes:

If you choose a lineage, you might have once been a member of another race, but you aren’t any longer. You now possess only your lineage’s racial traits.

D&D is an exception based rules design meaning that a more specific rule will trump a less specific general one. It's also worth noting that every lineage has the same Ancestral Legacy feature which is an exception to this rule.

Also, from a power level perspective, for the prodigy feat, being able to keep one additional skill proficiency (total 2) from your previous race (Variant Human) is exactly equivalent to the "if you don't keep any elements.." clause letting you choose 2 proficiencies. As variant humans don't have any special move speeds. The only issue with power level is if 2 or more proficiencies were gained by the feat like the "Skilled" feat, which no one ever takes, and if someone is willing to gamble in character creation to maybe get 2 additional skill proficiencies, I don't think it'll make a huge balance problem.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think this is a good start, but I’m not completely sold yet. It would be improved if you addressed the bold sentence from the other answer’s second quote: “If you choose a lineage, you might have once been a member of another race, but you aren’t any longer. You now possess only your lineage’s racial traits. \$\endgroup\$ Commented May 28 at 18:42
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's actually a fault in the other answer, the Ancestral Legacy rule trumps the one for lineages regardless. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mathaddict
    Commented May 28 at 18:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .