11
\$\begingroup\$

The Unearthed Arcana for the Fairy Race states:

Fairy Flight. You have a flying speed equal to your walking speed and can hover. This flight is magical and does not require the use of your wings (if you have them).

By calling this flight magical, does this mean that a fairy cannot fly while in an antimagic field? I can't think of any other creatures that have 'magic' flight other then by casting fly on them, does the Fairy's flight function the same as the spell in this case?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that the non-UA published versions are different: flight does use your wings and isn't specified as magical. (Mordenkainen Presents: Monsters of the Multiverse and The Wild Beyond the Witchlight) - Can fairies fly in an antimagic field? \$\endgroup\$ Mar 9 at 7:45

2 Answers 2

17
\$\begingroup\$

The flight is magical, so it is suppressed within an antimagic field.

Since the rules clearly state the flight ability is magical in nature then it will not function inside of an antimagic field which specifically blocks all magic:

A 10-foot-radius invisible sphere of antimagic surrounds you. This area is divorced from the magical energy that suffuses the multiverse. Within the sphere, spells can’t be cast, summoned creatures disappear, and even magic items become mundane. Until the spell ends, the sphere moves with you, centered on you.

Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can’t protrude into it. A slot expended to cast a suppressed spell is consumed. While an effect is suppressed, it doesn’t function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration.

Their flight isn't quite the same as the fly spell though as the spell gives the target a flight speed of 60 feet while the fairy has a fly speed equal to their walking speed. This will be slower by default, but could be higher if they have a sufficient bonus to their walking speed.

\$\endgroup\$
1
4
\$\begingroup\$

Note: a previous version of this answer held an opposite opinion based on incorrect information, which I no longer agree with.

Fairy Flight is suppressed

The first two paragraphs of Antimagic Field indicate that it is likely intended to affect all magical effects except the absolute most powerful kinds (artifacts and divine intervention basically). More importantly in this case, it also provides a list of very specific ways it affects very specific types of magical effects. This case falls under the "Spells" heading:

Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it.

Even though Fairy Flight is not a spell, and thus someone (like myself) may incorrectly assume the information under the "Spells" heading is not applicable, the actual text says "Any [...] magical effect on a creature [...] is suppressed". Fairy Flight is a magical effect as you noted, and it is definitely on a creature, thus it is suppressed within an Antimagic Field and the Fairy will be unable to fly.

\$\endgroup\$
8
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Antimagic field suppresses all magical effects: “ Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere”. \$\endgroup\$ May 20, 2021 at 9:36
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Antimagic field also says "Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or a deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it." List gives descriptions for specific interactions, but does not remove the general rule in the text above. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mołot
    May 20, 2021 at 9:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Mołot Despite the first paragraph of this answer, the spell description pretty clearly does say “all magical effects stop working.” \$\endgroup\$ May 20, 2021 at 10:20
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ This contradicts the Sage Advice rpg.stackexchange.com/a/113365/27377 \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    May 20, 2021 at 10:21
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Fairy Flight is a "magical effect on a creature" hence is a subject to be suppressed — "Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it." \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    May 20, 2021 at 16:14

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .