The description of Luck Blade (DMG p179) says:

Luck. If the sword is on your person, you can call on its luck (no action required) to reroll one Attack roll, ability check, or saving throw you dislike. You must use the second roll. This property can’t be used again until the next dawn.

Do you have to be attuned to it to receive the benefit, or as the description says, is having it on your person enough?


You must be attuned.

The rules for attunement state:

Without becoming attuned to an item that requires attunement, a creature gains only its nonmagical benefits, unless its description states otherwise.

The description does not say it works while unattuned, so you must be attuned.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.